Cheapest legal research software by printed price
CaseRead Lite is the lowest-priced legal research tool in this list: $15 a month on month-to-month billing, with 20 research questions a month, as read on November 4, 2026. "Lowest" here means the lowest printed price among the options priced on this page. See best AI legal research tools for how the same tools compare on citation checks.
| Option | Lowest printed price | Billing basis | What the low price leaves out |
|---|---|---|---|
| CaseRead Lite | $15 a month | Billed monthly, no trial | 20 questions a month; no deep research or drafting |
| Claude | Pro $17 a month annual plan, $200 billed up front; $20 monthly | Annual or monthly | General chatbot; individual plans list model training as opt-out |
| ChatGPT | Plus $20 a month | Billed monthly | General chatbot; individual plans may train on content unless you opt out |
| CaseRead Pro | $119 a month billed yearly; $149 month to month | Yearly or monthly | Research pauses at 150% of the allowance until reset |
| Westlaw Edge with AI-Assisted Research | $155.35 a month, one circuit | 3-year term | No 1-year or 2-year price printed |
| NexLaw | $2,999 a year per license, shown as $250 a month | Annual only | No month-to-month billing |
| Paxton | $2,999 per user a year, or $499 per user a month | A year paid at once, or monthly | Word and Outlook plugins only on Enterprise |
| Westlaw Advantage | $256.75 a month, one circuit | Term not stated | New customers at firms of up to 10 attorneys only |
Rows run by each option's lowest printed figure on its own basis. Monthly and yearly bases differ, so the order is not a ranking of total cost. Claude figures come from Anthropic's US-dollar price data on its pricing page.
We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you.
Screen a brief with CaseRead →What $15 a month buys and leaves out
Lite includes 20 research questions a month, up to 4 a day, Standard answers, the Hallucination Shield check on any answer, 3 projects and a 100 MB document vault. It leaves out deep research, AI drafting and the Word editor, which start on Pro. The CaseRead pricing guide sets Lite, Pro and Team side by side.
Lite is the cheapest CaseRead plan but has no trial; the 7-day trial sits on Pro and Team.
The lowest printed Westlaw prices and their terms
Westlaw Edge with AI-Assisted Research starts at $155.35 a month for one circuit and $266.50 a month for all states and federal, each with a 3-year term. Westlaw Advantage starts at $256.75 a month for one circuit, with its term not stated. Both are online prices for new customers at firms of up to 10 attorneys.
Westlaw Edge and CoCounsel Legal print no price before a short form, so this is the lowest printed Westlaw price, not the lowest Westlaw price. Westlaw alternatives covers the other routes.
Free AI legal research options and their limits
CaseRead's pricing page lists no free plan; the free parts are the demo and the limited citation check. The free check allows 2 a day, shows full detail for the first 3 citations and asks for an email to unlock the rest.
Claude has a Free plan at $0 and ChatGPT has a Free plan, but both are general chatbots. Stanford HAI's May 2024 report says its previous study of general-purpose chatbots found they hallucinated between 58% and 82% of the time on legal queries; that figure measures no current tool.
Why a cheap tool still needs a citation check
CaseRead's terms make the attorney solely responsible for verifying every citation, and the court in Mata v. Avianca described a gatekeeping role for attorneys over the accuracy of their filings. Legal citation checker tools compares what each checker reads and where it stops.
Sources used for this page
The facts above come from the pages below, read on November 4, 2026. Prices and terms change, so confirm them on the vendor's site before you buy.
- CaseRead pricing — Vendor pricing page · caseread.ai · read November 4, 2026
- CaseRead Hallucination Shield — Vendor product page · caseread.ai · read November 4, 2026
- CaseRead terms — Vendor legal page · caseread.ai · read November 4, 2026
- Westlaw Edge with AI-Assisted Research plans and pricing — Vendor pricing page · sales.legalsolutions.thomsonreuters.com · read November 4, 2026
- Westlaw Advantage plans and pricing — Vendor pricing page · sales.legalsolutions.thomsonreuters.com · read November 4, 2026
- NexLaw pricing — Vendor pricing page · nexlaw.ai · read November 4, 2026
- Paxton pricing — Vendor pricing page · paxton.ai · read November 4, 2026
- What is ChatGPT Plus? — Vendor documentation · help.openai.com · read November 4, 2026
- How your data is used to improve model performance — Vendor documentation · help.openai.com · read November 4, 2026
- Claude pricing — Vendor pricing page · claude.com · read November 4, 2026
- AI on Trial: Legal Models Hallucinate in 1 out of 6 (or More) Benchmarking Queries — Independent · hai.stanford.edu · read November 4, 2026
- Mata v. Avianca, Inc., No. 22-cv-1461 (S.D.N.Y.), Opinion and Order on Sanctions, June 22, 2023 — Independent · storage.courtlistener.com · read November 4, 2026
- Hallucinating Law: Legal Mistakes with Large Language Models are Pervasive — Independent · hai.stanford.edu · read November 4, 2026